A Man I Knew By: Margaret Levine

The poem titled “A Man I Knew” by Margaret Levine depicts the fast-moving characteristics of society. So quickly do people change and evolve and so quickly do friendships come and go, with people soon to be forgotten in a matter of months. The author is realizing this and is trying to hold on to this friendship with this man that she knew. Levine still obviously cares about him genuinely. A part of the poem I am confused by is when Levine writes, “…are on the dresser, they float forever, like a boat.” What does this mean? Maybe she is talking about the fragility of their friendship, by saying if she disrupts their fragile friendship then the man won’e be floating anymore. That could be totally wrong, it could be totally write. I interpret this poem differently because of difefrent experiences I’ve had.

A Man I Knew

has a condo

a maid who comes
every other week

kids who won't

are on the dresser
they float forever

like a boat

—Margaret Levine

Leave a comment